AU-TASU 2017

The winner of LHV award for new compositions “Au-tasu” is Estonian composer Toivo Tulev for his piece “Black Mirror”.

The LHV award for new compositions “Au-tasu” is presented to the composer whose new musical work, premiered in 2016, garners unanimous acclaim from the jury as a highly artistic piece deserving of international recognition. The award is made up of 5000 euros prize money and artwork by glass artist Mare Saare. In addition to this, Estonian Music Days will commission the winner for a brand new piece, subject to their agreement.



Glasmuseum Frauenau, Bavaria, Germany

Dates: March 26 to October 8, 2017

 Norbert Kalthoff; Director: Karin Rühl

Japanese artists: Harumi Yukutake, Jin Hongo, Shunji Omura, Masahiro Sasaki, Machiko Ito, Yoshiaki Kojiro, Tsuyoshi Inoue, Mica Okuno, Yoko Miyata, Runa Kosogawa, Ai Kigoshi, Akira Nakagawa

Japanese born artists living and working in Europe: Masami Hirohata, Keiko Mukaide, Yoshi Yamauchi

European artists with a meaningful connection to Japan: Mare Saare, Lada Semecka

Mono no aware – もののあはれ

Mono no aware (もののあはれ), literally “the pathos of things”, and also translated as “an empathy toward things”, or “a sensitivity to ephemera”, is a Japanese term for the awareness of impermanence (無常), or transience of things, and both a transient gentle sadness (or wistfulness) at their passing as well as a longer, deeper gentle sadness about this state being the reality of life. /Vikipedia/